It’s a little pathetic, but I’m officially counting down to our one year mark (1 months & 21 days…), so I can openly start counting down without being an annoying douche-bag (13 months & 21 days).

But in the mean time…exciting things! I’ve signed the disclosures that mean we’ve officially started the process for refinancing my house!

Back Story

I bought my leetle house 8 years ago when I was 22 (please don’t do the math on that). While I am very excited and proud that I got into home ownership before I had even graduated from college (which, now that I think on it, isn’t that impressive since I didn’t finish college until I was 28, but I digress), it was not the best time to buy a house. Remember the Housing Market Bubble? When I got my mortgage, housing prices were bloated due to risky lending (thanks Fannie Mae) but, within 6 months, the sale price for houses like mine dropped about 14%. $15,000 just went *poof* over the course of a year.

Thank god I could pay my mortgage and didn’t need to sell it, still, I ended up missing the window for those historically (artificially) low interest rates and but still paying the “bubble” price for my home.

Over the next 8 years I paid off my car (yay) finished my Bachelor’s degree (double yay!) and…accrued about $28,000 in additional debt. This was my status when I met Holly. About this same time, I locked myself into a payment plan that would have this paid off in 3 years. Which was uncomfortable, but certainly do-able since I didn’t have any big ticket plans on the horizon.  Fast forward about a year and…we got engaged!

Oh, well hello, big ticket plan…

After realizing that my “pay off my debt right naw!” plan seriously hampered our ability to save extra money, we pushed the wedding date back a year. Which was hard to do, but a serious relief.

The Present

As of March 1st, we had paid off about $17,000 of my school debt!

Andy Dwyer throwing confetti in excitement

We’re on track to have another $5,000 paid off this year.

(Forgive me, I’m in a giffy mood today…)

So we decided now would be a good time to refinance the house, something I’ve been wanting to do for about 4 years now.

It’s a little scary because we do have to come up with some cash up front, but when it’s all said and done, our interest rate will drop over 2% and our house payment will go down over $200.

On one hand, I’m thinking wow we could totally just put an extra $200 toward the house every month! On the other hand…um, wedding!

So right now we’re still scrambling to get everything together to push the refinance through, hopefully by the end of April, just in time for me to start “officially” counting down for the wedding. This works out well because my crazy obsessive brain needs goals and projects to keep my body happily flooded with seratonin,

So yay for big grown-up life things!

